Review : Perfect Timing: A Romantic Comedy by Robin Mellom

25070878

cca5e-goodreadsAMAZON US : http://www.amazon.com/Perfect-Timing-Romantic-Robin-Mellom-ebook/dp/B00U6EVPGS/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1425454648&sr=8-6&keywords=robin+mellom

Blurb :

After a break-up with her boyfriend, Tori Wright decides to get her mind off the guy and takes a job running errands for an eccentric couple. Suddenly she finds herself involved in the crazy world of LA nightlife–nightclubs, palm readers, movie stars, and a roving pack of paparazzi. After a misunderstanding lands her in jail, she has one night to clear her name, help a movie starlet avoid the paparazzi, and find Adam…the coworker who is quickly stealing her heart.
As she makes decisions that can change the course of her life, Tori discovers just how far she’ll go to set the record straight.
But is she too late?
Perfect Timing is a charming romantic comedy that will have you wondering if true love can be found at the wrong time. It’s a teen romance that will appeal to readers of New Adult contemporary romance and romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jenny B. Jones, Rainbow Rowell, and Sophie Kinsella.

More about Robin Mellom : http://www.robinmellom.com/

IMG_0418

** ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley for an honest review. **

This story was fun, refreshing and sparkling. Sweet romantic comedy!
I had a great time following the adventures of Tori and Adam. The flashbacks could be disturbing at first, but they totally fitted into the story.
This book had definitely the vibes from an 80’s movies, John Hughes’ style and I liked it!

Tori is a 16 yo girl, a little bit naive but so supportive when it comes to her family or friends. For her young age, she was also mature and she was helping her mother with her blog, knowing all the self-help books by heart. She was trying to find her place, without knowing really what she wanted to do.
Her mother was so focused on her own life that she was neglecting her daughter. It was kind of sad,because this girl was so a delightful character! She knew more about romance/love, she is witty and so funny!!
After her boyfriend dumped her by text; she wanted a fresh start, beginning a new work, taking a night job running bizzare errands for a eccentric couple.

She met here, Adam, sweet, nerdy guy, who wanted to get his girlfriend back. Immediately, they got along. What is funny that both had the same goal! So she gave him some advice about dating rules he had to respect if he wanted to be with her again.
But the more she spend time with him, the more she claimed that he’s only a friend. But this funny girl was in complete denial, really, totally obsessed by her rules about dating and relationships.

In her way to get her ex back by ignoring him and showing that she could be happy without him, running some very weird errands, and some very hilarious friends (high five to Taylor, her gay BBF, could be such a cliché, but he totally nailed it!!), she ended in juvie … and she put everything in perspective, meet her favorite actress, and let just say that these parts were so hilarious!

The author did a great job with the characters, Tori was just great, her sarcasm was a pure blast, she was so endearing! Regarding Adam, his sweetness and his nerdy side … just cute!

As I’ve said it before, this book was like watching an 80’s movie, bubbly, funny, as teen movies I was watching when I was younger, but I didn’t mind because it was I wanted at this time, with its lightness and characters so cute and sweet but quite subtle at the same time! Great job!

IMG_0744

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s